The Resource Booking app allows users to manage a list of resources and to reserve those resources in a weekly calendar view. The app will check to make sure that there are no double bookings.
Besides the default page of the app which provides access to the Resources & Bookings lists, you can add an App Part to any page on the host site to display the calendar and allow users to add and delete reservations. The App Part does not contain links to open the Resource and Resource Bookings lists.
Managing Resources & Bookings
Below is a screen shot of the default app page.
There is a link to the list of Resources where users can manage the names of the available resources.
The Resources list is a simple list that contains only 1 column, which is the title of the resource. If you delete a Resource from the list it won't have any impact on any existing bookings.
There is a link to the list of Resource Bookings where you can manage bookings of resources.
The Resource Bookings list contains columns for the name of the resource, start and end time and owner of the booking. This is just a custom list and won't validate any double bookings, that functionality is only within the booking form described later. It could be useful to create addition custom views of the bookings or easily manage multiple bookings by taking advantage of Sharepoint's out of the box list functionality.
By default the app will show the current week. But you can navigate previous and next weeks by click on the arrow buttons. When a user hovers the mouse over a booking a popup will display the name of the booking owner.
You can filter the resources that are displayed in the weekly view by checking the Resources in the Resource Filter box at the bottom right.
Create New Bookings
To create a new booking, click on the icon at the right of the day header. You can only create booking reservations that occur in the future, the icon will not appear on days in the past. Please use the Resource Bookings link to access the list if you need to manage bookings from the past.
When you create a new booking the owner field will default to the current user. The start time will default to the nearest 10 minute interval to the current time. Both the start and end times are set to 10 minute intervals.
When you Save a booking a check will be made to ensure there are no clashes with other reservations. If a clash is found the save is cancelled and a message displayed informing you of the name of the person who has already reserved the resource.
Deleting a Booking
To delete a booking click the red cross next to the booking entry. Only the booking owner can delete a reservation from the weekly view and you can only delete bookings that are in the future, the red cross will not appear otherwise. You can use link to the Resource Bookings list to delete any booking if you have the permission todo so.
Using the App Part
Below is a screen shot of an example page where the Resource Booking app part has been added. The only difference is there are no links to open the Resources or Resource Booking lists.